Almost There

I went to bed last night with what I can only call “surreal anticipation.” I know today is significant. There’s a baby bed in our room. That hasn’t happened in years. We’re in China for crying out loud. This is really happening.

All this anticipation woke me up early. Like, 4AM early. But today was worth an early start. I thought I’d go get some coffee. There’s a Starbucks near our hotel but sadly it doesn’t open till 8:30AM…. what?!? So instead I settle in with a nice hot cup of Nescafé instant coffee. Mmm… Nevertheless, it’s hot and kinda reminds me of actual coffee so I’m good.

My sister reminded me of a passage in Ephesians where we’re told that God took pleasure in the work of making us his children. That our adoption is actually the revelation of our sonship. The purpose of adoption is to reveal the identity of the father. When we see a child alone, we react with one simple and very natural response, “Where is this child’s parent?” It’s unnatural for a child to be without parents. Orphans don’t know how to answer the question of sonship. So when someone says, “Who is responsible for the care and nurture of these children,” the father can say, “They belong to me.”

This is what adoption does. It identifies the father.

I stayed awake this morning with an awe of the weightiness of what today will forever become for us. I am eager to say, “She belongs with me.”

Leave a Reply

