We’re Not Looking for Perfect

perfect_1920x1080

About three years ago, Rosie was admitted to Children’s Hospital as a ten month old with RSV. Before that night, I’d never heard of RSV. Since then, I hear about it quite regularly. Most of the time kids are fine. But whenever I hear about a kid with RSV, it’s always accompanied by a moment of quiet panic because of what we went through with Rosie. I won’t go into the details of it all. If you’d like to read about it, you’re certainly welcome (and the rest of Dec. 2009).

The main reason I’m coming back to it is this… Kelley and I learned a HUGE lesson on prayer during that time. Good church people will always tell you that prayer is powerful. That it changes things. That it moves mountains. I never got that. Never really saw it happen. I wasn’t really sure what prayer was for other than to help with meditation and to tell God that you’re thankful for this or that.

But as seems to be characteristic of God when He’s teaching me something, there would of course be a test. A week or so before Rosie was admitted to the hospital, I’d been confessing my doubts about the efficacy of prayer. I was really uncertain that it was beneficial at all. I knew most people would say that it was but I didn’t really understand how. One afternoon while driving home from work I kept thinking about the brain and how it’s designed to pass messages along through the body. And it dawned on me (this is the short-version of the story) that prayer was like synapse. A synapse is designed to pass a signal from one cell to another throughout the body.

Prayer is like this.

I used to think that prayer was for God’s benefit, but I soon discovered that prayer was much further reaching than that. Prayer is the network of communication that runs through the Body (of Christ – you and me) to keep us responsive to His promptings. A series of messages, if you will, moving from cell to cell to create a response.

I’m not going to unpack all of this here because the point is this… Prayer connected us to people we’d never met to answer needs that we were powerless to meet on our own. Prayer sent a nudging into the mind of the doctor to try “one more thing” and discover what was actually going on with our little baby.

Now, I’ve told you all of this to get to one thing. I want to ask you to pray with us. To pray for us.

We feel passionately called to take up the cause of the widow and orphan. That calling has taken us down different roads through the years and our lives are richer for the relationships forged along the way. We have always known adoption would be a part of our story and we’ve been more than ready for years but God has asked us to patiently wait for the right time.

We REALLY want to adopt. And we feel God prepping our hearts, saying it is time. But we believe that God is asking us to go about it in a very specific way. A way that involves a lot of trust. And a way that involves establishing relationships with people whom we don’t know about yet. So, we are asking God to help us meet a mom who wants to carry and deliver her baby, and who chooses us to raise her baby. We want to build a family with this woman and involve her as much as she wishes. And we would ask you to pray this with us.

We aren’t interested in the “perfect” child. Our family’s joy increased exponentially when we abandoned the pursuit of perfect. So, instead of snapshots of perfect kids, clean, well dressed and smiling angelically, you’ll find our photo stream filled with pictures of smudged faces, halloween costumes in July, eyes closed and doubled over laughing. We choose to find our joy in a bigger story. A story of where God writes our character with messy faces and all.

We’re not looking for perfect. We just want to obey God.

One thought on “We’re Not Looking for Perfect

  1. Pingback: I Knew This Day Would Come | Concentricity

Leave a Reply

