The Ant Saga, Part IV

Alright, well… I guess we’re making progress but I’m a little put out.

The landlord came out on Sunday afternoon to clean up the yard. I told him what the exterminator said but he kinda scoffed at it. I don’t get the attitude really. I mean, this is his property that has gotten overrun with pests that both make it unsafe for his tenants and is causing physical damage to his property. This was an issue he should have taken up with his previous tenants. An issue that existed in the months between their leaving and our moving in. I don’t really understand why it didn’t get taken care of while he was trying to get the property rented. And now he’s gonna give me grief about trying to make it safe and habitable for my family?

He worked for about four hours and moved some branches to the street for pickup. But there’s still so much left. He said he’ll be back but it won’t be until later next week because he’s gotta go out of town for work. I don’t have a lot of faith that he’s coming back. I really need to find some teenagers who are looking for some Summer work and get this taken care of. It’s ridiculous to have a backyard that you can’t use and a perfectly good backyard playground that my kids can’t take advantage of because of the infestation.

But inside the house we’re continually fighting the ant battle. I mean, you’d think that ants would simply go away. But no. They keep showing up. And it’s not just one or two or five or twenty. It’s hundreds. Almost every other day at this point. It’s a little better than it was. We were having hundreds a day that we’d have to kill. Now it’s down to every other day. But it does no good to try to bomb their habitat in the backyard when the place is overgrown. It’s a harboring ground.

And in the past few weeks, I’ll bet we’ve killed over two thousand ants in almost every room of the house. The kitchen. The pantry. The dishwasher. The laundry. The living room. The dining room. The bathroom. Every bedroom. Closets. The only room that hasn’t seen them is the office and the stairwell. It’s absurd, really. It’s impossible to feel at home here right now.

I’m taking to Facebook to find some help.

Leave a Reply

