The Thing About Leaving

I realized last night that almost all the major life events as an adult have happened to me during my time here.

Kelley and I were married in January of 2007.

Grady was born in September.

Eli was adopted in May 2008.

Rosie was born in January 2009.

With you you guys around, I’ve seen the addition of every child into my family. Through the scares we’ve experienced, you all have supported us with your prayers and love. And now with my exit, your support and encouragement is unfailing.

The thing about leaving is it’s only geography. Twenty years from now when I’m recalling events of Eli’s childhood, many of those memories have now been inseparably woven into my connections with you.

Leave a Reply

